Three Ingredient Sausage Balls

img_0051

I am not much of a cook (as my husband and friends will happily tell you), although I am trying to branch out in that direction.  What I do love to do is bake.  Since it’s almost Christmas time, I have been baking all of my holiday favorites.  Today’s bake is my favorite savory hors d’oeuvre for the holidays – the three ingredient sausage balls.  I thought I would blog about it since it is the one recipe EVERYONE asks me for.

Be warned, these sausage balls are not in any way, shape or form HEALTHY for you, but they sure do taste good!  They are also extremely easy to make, so they are perfect if you need a warm, savory hors d’oeuvre at the last minute.  They are tasty warm or cold, and you can make them and freeze them ahead of time.

Recipe:  3 Ingredient Sausage Balls

1 lb uncooked sausage (I use Jimmy Dean pork sausage)

1 lb sharp cheddar cheese

3 c Bisquick

Preheat oven to 400.  Grate the cheese and mix it with the sausage by hand in a large mixing bowl until fully incorporated.  Add Bisquick and mix well by hand, making sure to incorporate all of the loose powder.  Form into small balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

My Baking Tips

It’s not essential, but I use a giant tupperware bowl for this recipe.  I find that a smaller bowl makes it harder to really get my hands in there and mix without slopping stuff out of the bowl.  I also use a food processor to grate my cheese.  The finer you grate the cheese, the easier the mixture is to incorporate, so the food processor gets the job done quickly.

img_0048

Mixture ready for baking!

I make my balls about the size of a heaping teaspoonful (actual teaspoon, not a measuring spoon).  You can really load the balls of dough onto your cookie sheet.  These do not spread much while baking, so as long as they aren’t touching, cram them on!  I can usually bake a whole batch on 2-3 cookie sheets.

img_0050

Dough formed into balls

Squeeze the dough together to get the balls to form.  The drier the dough is the harder it will be to shape it so make sure all the dry goods are incorporated!

I make these ahead of the holidays and store them in a large ziplock in my freezer.  Then I can just heat them up in the microwave until warm again and serve as needed!  (You don’t really have to heat them – they are great at room temperature too).  If you don’t plan freeze them, I recommend keeping them in the refrigerator until eaten.

Hope you enjoy these this holiday season!  You can experiment by adding spices or using a flavored/spicy sausage (I sometimes use Jimmy Dean’s spicy pork sausage) to put your own twist on this recipe!

Leave a Reply

