Temperature Blanket

At the end of every year, I poke around Ravelry and see all of the beautiful projects that people have painstakingly created all year.  And every year, I think, “I wanna do that!” But January passes, and the February, and, well March is so busy, and the rest of the year passes until I am back in the same boat the next January.Well, this year, I somehow came across some inspiration in December and went with it.

image_small2

 

I wanted to do a 2017 temperature blanket so I wanted to find some yarn that was (a)soft, (b)washable and (c)fairly inexpensive. After a LOT of going back and forth, I decided to go with Mighty Stitch Worsted Yarn from Knit Picks, which is an odd choice for me because I generally don’t knit with acrylic and didn’t want anything that felt, well, acrylic-y.  But that is what I decided and I ordered a plethora of rainbow colors. As soon as I opened the bag, James asked if I would make it for him since he loves bright colors.

 

How could I not say yes?

 

 
img_1957_medium2

 

 

It is now the middle of January and (surprise!) I actually decided on a pattern and even started it!! I wanted a very simple stripey design and, again, after much deliberation, I decided on a simple chevron (Western Hills by Julia Stanfield).  That way I could just switch colors when necessary and not have to worry about a complicated pattern. A couple of weeks in and I am loving it.  I am already planning on making another one next year (maybe choosing an ombre palette).  Then again, it is only January, so ask me again in December!!

 

In the meantime, I will try to keep my project page updated.  But, if I am being honest, that may be an empty promise.

 

2 thoughts on “Temperature Blanket

  1. Pingback: Scrap Happy | Rabbit Hole Crafters

  2. Pingback: When plans don’t go as planned | Rabbit Hole Crafters

Leave a Reply

