There Is Kindness in This World

An amazing thing happened to me today and I just have to share it.

If you follow me on Instagram, you know that for years, I have gone to the Dunkin’ Donuts near my son’s karate dojo on Wednesday and Thursday.  The dojo is just far enough from our house that it doesn’t really make sense to drive home during his class on Wednesday, and on Thursday, I have a class after his.  So I bring my knitting, order an unsweetened green iced tea and hang out.

Now I don’t really know how it happened exactly, but I’ve collected an assorted bunch of crafty friends over the years.  There’s the older lady from Boston, who crochets, and the younger lady from the North Shore who paints water colors, and the young home-care nurse (who crochets) from nearby who takes care of an elderly woman with Alzheimer’s.  Eventually, we all started sitting together and working on our various crafts.  I should also mention my three UPS guys who take their breaks there and occasionally join in to our conversation.  Anyway, I’ve somehow fallen into an impromptu craft group!

We all talk about our home lives while we craft.  The older Boston lady has been teaching the young home-care nurse some different crochet techniques.  A few weeks ago, the Boston lady crocheted a hat for the elderly woman with Alzheimer’s.  The elderly lady was so touched.  She also made one for me, which I thought was really kind.

At some point over the last month I mentioned how I only had one pair of pants that fit me now.  I have a couple pairs of pants that I can wear with a belt, but they are two sizes too big.  We talked about how during my weight loss I’ve been shopping at Savers and buying used clothing because I don’t want to spend too much money when I might have to replace things in a month or so.  The Boston lady had asked me about my clothing sizes and I figured she was just interested in my weight loss.

Two weekends ago, she went to NYC with her friends to do some deep discount clothing shopping.  Today, when she walked into Dunkin’ Donuts, she handed me two bags!  She bought me 3 pairs of pants, 4 pairs of leggings and a t-shirt.  She told me to go into the restroom to see if they fit (they did).  I asked her what I owed her and she said it was a gift for me, and that working that hard to lose weight deserved a reward.

I started crying right in Dunkin’ Donuts.  I gave her a big hug.  What she doesn’t know is that right now our monthly budget is very tight due to some big unexpected expenses — we need to replace two garage doors and one garage door motor, three of us need new glasses, and we have to pay our first water/sewer bill in the new house, which is much more than at our old one-bathroom house.  Oh, and did I mention the homeowner’s insurance wants us to cut back the tree in our front yard?  We’ll have a little more room in the budget next month (when we get my husband’s annual bonus and our tax return money), but this month is just a bad time for me to buy new clothes, so I’ve been making do.

The leggings were especially great.  There is a pair of sports leggings in there, and I’ve just had to give away all but two pair of my old ones.  Since I work out 5-7 days a week, depending on my schedule, I was doing a lot of laundry to keep my workout clothes clean.

I’m going to spend the next week knitting her something wonderful.  I haven’t decided what yet, but I want to do something to thank her for this random act of kindness.  It lifted me up today and it made me realize that there is still so much kindness in this world.

The picture for this post?  Just my scrappy sock blanket.  I’m almost done with the third row.  I can’t seem to stop knitting on it.

 

3 thoughts on “There Is Kindness in This World

  1. Pingback: What’s Up With Wendy | Rabbit Hole Crafters

Leave a Reply

