Snow Day Baking

Last week, we had snow after snow after snow and the kids were out of school for 3 days!  Ahh! What do you do when the kids are out of school for 3 unplanned days (I mean, besides cry)?  Bake cookies, of course!

I have a chocolate crinkle cookie recipe that is my go to.  I mean, I don’t even like chocolate cookies (chocolate CHIP cookies, now those I love!) but these cookies are seriously amazing.  Problem is that they are a bit more of a pain and they mess up half the kitchen. You have to roll them and dip them and, well, it is just too much for an impromptu cookie baking session.  Especially one where your 10 year old tells you, “I don’t want your help” and even asks if you will leave the kitchen.

So instead of my delicious crinkle cookie recipe, we went with one that I got from one of my 2785635 cookie magazines (I am seriously obsessed with cookie magazines, I buy like 10 a year when they all come out at Christmas!) that I was going to make a few years ago, but I just never had.  Plus, they are easy enough for a 10 year old to make on his own!  It was from a Good Housekeeping cookie magazine and the recipe happens to be online as well Chocolate Volcano Cookies

As I said, they were extremely easy to make. You pretty much just mix everything together, fold in the chocolate chips, and bake. And tell your mom that you don’t need her help.

They came out of the oven and they were pretty much perfect.  Shiny and glossy and crackly. We let them cool a bit (the hardest part) and enjoyed with some nice, cold milk!

The boys LOVED these.  LOVED them.  They had a wonderful texture.  They were light and crispy with just a slight crunch to the crust, but the inside was extremely airy with just the right chew.  I likened them to a French Macaron (which, if you look at the ingredient list, pretty much makes sense). Personally, though, I found them to be extremely sweet.  Too sweet for me.  My little sugar-a-holics loved them.

Now what on earth are we going to do for school vacation?!?

Leave a Reply

